running faster but slowing down

running. it seems simple enough, it’s just like walking but faster.   it’s rushing forward …
but for me, running means slowing down.  an unlikely paradox?

lacing up my shoes, plugging in my iPod and whistling for  Jasper puts me at ease.  i hear the hum of music but it is quiet, a stillness envelopes me —  i am breathing,  the trees loom and i can feel my footsteps pushing me along.  i am taller and stronger and i can think through my day, my week, until all the pieces clinking around snap together. i have a plan. i drift. i find my rhythm. i enjoy.

left, right, up and to the side around the roots, through the puddles across a bridge….i am breathing and it’s easier than yesterday.  how did i get here in this moment? running has not always been my bliss. more often it is hard work and something i dread. as the years went by and my time became more limited, i embraced the immediacy of a run. anywhere, anytime, any city, any weather…i can run.

my pace picks up and my breathing shallows, my feet move faster but i slow down.

it may not be running, it might be singing in the shower,  drinking your coffee in the cafe, taking a simple walk outside but you mostly likely have that one ‘thing’ that makes you slow down.

remember it is there. find it. feed it and give yourself some time to slow down.

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

4 responses to “running faster but slowing down”

  1. Shar says :

    my zen is hot yoga

  2. Christine@100things100days says :

    Decluttering slows me down. Taking a moment to ask myself – what the hell is this crap? – really clears my head. Great post Michelle (and Jasper). Thanks!

  3. Stacy says :

    Brad and I watched La Dolce Vita the other night and a poet at a party says her favourite things are smoking, drinking and sleeping. My automatic answer was coffee, walking, sleeping. I wish there were more coffee joints around here that were open past 6pm!

Leave a Reply

