“Treat” your body right

‘Tis the season to run around.  Visiting people, picking up presents, cramming the last bit of work in before a holiday (or worse) you have no real holidays. But you are out there and life  is happening.

The big question, are you being kind to your body?

I attempted to do it all this morning, woke up, got out the door with my son and our dog and hit the trails.  The plan, squeak in a run/hike/bike before an early afternoon Christmas party. We went for it, embracing the sunshine, sliding on the icy road before hitting the trails where we went flying through the muck!  Awesome.

Back to the car –mud on our shoes and smiles on our faces.  Put the package in the car–aka Jack, banged the mud out of his shoes, shook his pants off and pulled out his snacks and water bottle.

Me….covered in mud, sweaty,  and snack-less. hmm,  not sure how this happens?  It seems I’ve mastered the art of feeding my child but  haven’t quite got the knack of packing a snack for me too.  No problem,  I’ll grab a post run snack at home BUT 35 minutes after rushing out the door my stomach is growling and I am sipping a glass of water and 3 plates of cookies are staring back at me.  Don’t get me wrong I like a good treat every now but this is not the way to ‘treat’ my body post run.  Sheepishly, I ask the hostess for a banana which she graciously provided.  So with a little snack in hand I avoided the cookies,  tricked my body,  and limped by on a little potassium.

Sometimes we get caught up in getting from A to B and C and forget about the ME.  So this season think about yourself and pack in some good nutrition–a few almonds, an apple or banana with a got to snack and remember you need to make time to eat.  We only get one body, let’s treat it right!

Got any go to ideas for good snacks that treat your body right?

Tags: , , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

Leave a Reply

