karma saved my butt…literally

yesterday nature delivered.  a little icy white paired with the winter sun made photographers fingers jittery and set their hearts aflutter.

it wasn’t a blizzard, it wasn’t blustery,  the sun lit the snow.

i was benched for the morning, i had an RSVP…so i sat in my living room, savoured my coffee and enjoyed the view.

next stop ‘go bananas’ (literally)–a kiddies birthday (enough said).  expecting a lot of chaos and craziness,  i was unexpectedly rewarded by a fantastic morning– 3 & 4 year olds listening, laughing and eating cake without incident.

homeward bound, i checked in … my husband and my sister had both already hit the trail.  i was solo for my run.  so i layered up,  laced up my shoes, donned my toque and gloves. pulling out of the driveway i saw my husband and son playing street hockey.  awesome…my phone came out, snap, snap. upward and onward.

lungs burning, fingers tingling and feet sashaying through the mud whilst slipping across pockets of packed snow i ventured forth,  to my trail.  fellow travellers offered a ‘hello’ and a secret smile as we inhaled the cool air and drank in the views.  yes, my trail is arresting. i have been up and down countless times and have stepped, jumped and rocketed over every root and whether in the misty rain, torrential downpour, first sun of spring, summer’s warm evening air, or the hot dry dust of a mid-summer’s day, this trail delivers. up through the forest to a rock in the sky.  it takes ones breath away, (sometimes the futile breath of hikers), it’s a catch at the back of your throat–pure opulence.

the energy of the day effused me, my feet moved, my body found its rhythm and my mind wandered. i was reflecting, collecting bits and pieces of the day.  this day, this life, my life, well it’s great. with my head in the clouds my foot slipped, and i yelped, nope –i screamed. miraculously i connected with a rail and didn’t land on my butt.

chances are i should have fallen hard, had my head not been full of happy thoughts. lesson for the day, think happy and keep yourself safe!

kudos to karma.

ps. my happy day via my iPhone

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tags: , , , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

2 responses to “karma saved my butt…literally”

  1. Aimee says :

    I love the slideshows! I don’t know if I have that on my blog…maybe it’s a widget and I just haven’t figured it out yet. Ha.

Leave a Reply

