an apple a day!

christmas 2010 my husband reneged on our ‘no $$$$ present’ agreement. he bought me something shiny and new, a little practical, but without doubt a present so divine it sparked an ongoing love affair.

it was cool to the touch, sleek and understated–aesthetically beautiful.  i lifted it reverently from it’s box. it was weighty but comfortably so.  it was the apple of my eye.

it was my gateway to the world from my corner desk. it was a utility to organize our lives in black and white type,  but also a place and space to capture and display our lives in vibrant colour, capturing, holding and projecting the magic and the minutia of every day in photos and video. it connected to a vortex of everything and anything. it was both a toy and a tool, all wrapped up in one 9 x 13 box.

unlike other new additions to my wardrobe, it  needed for nothing (desired maybe, but needed–NO). i plugged it in, the apple glowed and smiled for me, and with a few clicks i was hooked.

i had been patiently waiting to replace my beaten and battered blackberry. without trepidation or trial, i purchased the iPhone and as though destined to have a partner in life, my phone and and computer connected. our household fate was sealed.

2 iPads, Apple TV, iTunes and an iMac later, i often thing about how much easier life would be if more companies were visionary like Apple.  in the world of an Apple customer, everything works and comes together? it is almost mystical. sadly it shouldn’t be. but the service Apple provides is amazing. every touchpoint has left me further impressed.

the other day i misplaced a receipt my husband needed to expense. normally this type of oversight sends me into a mild panic, where did it go, did i throw it away? how long am i going to have to spend chasing it down. but today i didn’t bat an eye, because it was an iTunes   receipt. i relaxed, after all i was in the land of Apple. one email and the missing receipt was delivered pleasantly, seamlessly and immediately. yes, apple people love apple. it shows. that is what belief and vision can do for a person and for a company.

it got me to thinking, have faith it what you do. love your choices, love where you are going and own it.  you will be happy and you will make other’s happy. if you are not where you want to be–find a way to change it.

all in all, it’s just an Apple but it really made me ‘think different(ly).’

Tags: , , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

Leave a Reply

