is it on a list?

i like lists. a list stops my brain from spinning, and pins down things that are bouncing around. lists clear space in my head…and let more thoughts wonder in. lists give me direction, and a sense of accomplishment. there’s nothing better than crossing off a ‘to do’

i’ve dabbled with digital, but my favourite is pen and paper.

today i took a break from writing (no novelist here–an educator if i may) and started to write on my every-present note pad.  i had a few good ideas rattling around.  they were a little lofty, and a little bit of a stretch, so before they ran away and  i pulled out my pen and immortalized them.  yes, i know myself quite well, my mind can be a bit too crafty.  if i’ve got a miss mash of stuff floating around, a dollop of good intentions is not going to get it done as a healthy dose of procrastination will give those intentions a run for their money. before they could slide away i committed them to paper.

a list staring back and me is hard to ignore. my list was succinct, and slightly cryptic. such a little list, a 3×3 square really, but it packed a punch.

i am going to…

  1. get my yoga back on…more time on the mat and less in my head.
  2. go gluten free…perhaps more precisely gluten light (it allows small indulgences)
  3. compose a 40 before 40 list….
  4. kick my own ass and run, walk or perhaps crawl a 1/2 marathon. the race – Aug 11 SeaWheeze
  5. be kind(er) to myself
  6. teach myself to breath better
  7. drink more water (not on the original list) but my new H20 bottle is cheering me on

i won’t promise that it won’t bend a bit, as i believe flexibility and adaptation are our friends, but pen to paper is pretty powerful.

this list carries a bit of weight, it is a list that kind of looks like and feels like resolutions. those ‘to dos’ are going to take some work. first things first, yoga…well i am day 7 in my 30 day challenge…which per, #3 might become a 40 day challenge and #7 is well under way. my hand is twitchy…i can almost feel the weight of my pen… .nothing to cross off yet…soon…but not yet.

so, how do you get things done?

Tags: , , , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

4 responses to “is it on a list?”

  1. Lav Chintapalli says :

    I often lose my list, so they stay rattling in my brain. What are you an educator of?

  2. drowqueen says :

    One of the phrases I loved when I was a regular at hot yoga was “still the chaos of your mind”…I would always snicker as my mind only stills in yoga if I really concentrate. I keep pen and paper by my bed and find myself jotting things down at midnight I might want to write about later. Sigh. Good luck with your list!

Leave a Reply

