30 days of yoga – 10 to go

i was crossing my fingers hoping that after 20 days of yoga i would have miraculously found a zen like existence.  i thought i would be ethereal and meditative, contemplative and unflappable. i also thought i would be a little more bendy, but sadly i think i am a little more creaky.

over the past 20 days i have learned a few things:

1> hydrate before hot yoga but not immediately before….cobra pose places a definite pressure on the bladder

2> avoid the bohemian yogic man, he is a natural yogi…’au natural’ to be decidedly fair, with a penchant for his own blend of aromatherapy. ensure maximum distance from his mat while being mindful of possible downwind effects

3> friday evening classes can get a bit touchy feel, well very touchy feely, and yes i found i was out of my comfort zone, and decidedly uncomfortable. i haven’t quite ventured back.

4> don’t cheap out on yoga tights, some of my fellow yogis need to buy a new pair.  black stretched lycra can be surprisingly shear.

5>  kalabati breathing – blow your nose first and avoid 7pm classes…garlic….

6> 7:30 am classes rock

7> this pose will take me years to get to… not sure why, but my hand can never find my foot

and yet…..i can do this…..

amidst these little nuggets i have found a plane of positive and meaningful change.  i find making more time for myself is rewarding, i sleep better, eat better and drink more water. i feel pretty justified wearing yoga pants everyday (that is a lazy perk). even though i still raise my voice at my child and i’ll admit to some unreasonableness with my husband–more often than not i’ve found myself taking a deep breath and approaching things a little differently. the whisperings of my teachers have nestled their way in…

quiet your mind, set an intention, be mindful’…deep in my bones those murmurs are bouncing around, they are willing me to be, to think and to do, to enjoy and to breath.

only 10 days to go, we’ll see what unfolds, but for now, i have found my way back to the mat. i’m going to hang out here a little longer and a little more often.  i will have to hold myself to it, or else you might.

photo courtesy of truestar.com & yahoo fitness

Tags: , , , , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

5 responses to “30 days of yoga – 10 to go”

  1. Christine@100things100days says :

    Way to go Michelle. I’m with you on points 2 and 4. And, should you ever venture back to Friday night yoga, I will be your back-to-back partner. Perhaps we should have a glass of wine before?

  2. Farhad says :

    ahhh a yogi is born:) xo

  3. Stride and Joy says :

    Awesome job. Good luck with the rest of the challenge!! You keep inspiring me to give yoga another shot. All I have to do is find the time … 🙂

    • twocentsplus says :

      time is definitely a challenge, i am fortunate that my studio is ridiculously beautiful (Maayoga.com) and is literally 4 mins from my house (drive). you’ve got a pretty good challenge going for yourself right now. you too inspire me 🙂 thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

