the indelicacy of rudeness

sometimes i get hung up on the action (or the inaction) of others.  i get a prickly feeling of agitation that ebbs and flows through me until i identify my disconcertion with the situation as rudeness. disguised rudeness is tricky, it leaves me unsettled.

daily we may encounter deliberate, determined and decisive bouts of rudeness–those who are curt, line jumpers, unnecessary tailgaters, and those who have not quite mastered the thank you. these moments, although off-putting slip in and out of my days like a floaty piece of lint–momentarily annoying but fleetingly so. easily brushed off.

the actions that are carried out under the guise of indifference, helpfulness or foresight are troublesome. they give me pause, but ultimately the tension that makes me decidedly uncomfortable is quelled and what emerges are acts that can only be described as rudeness in all of its glory.

indifference.  the dog poo, that defied the physical laws of attraction–it multiplied and ingrained itself into every conceivable space.  it spun itself under a bike tire, across the back of the seat, onto jeans, and worst fan-dangled itself into a rubber boot. no amount of baby wipes could sanitize this situation! oh but for the resilience of 3 year olds. clothes and boots shrugged off and a few loud exclamations of “disgusting.” me, well i’m still recovering. at the heart of it all, rudeness. just pick up the poop.

helpfulness. popping out of the loo and back into the yoga studio, i noted my mat, towel and water bottle had been moved significantly. not only my mine, but my sister’s as well. in a wide open space, 15 minutes prior to class, occupied by 5 people (capacity 50) our mats had been moved eight feet back. smack centre where ours used to be were two new mats occupied by 2 ladies–chit chatting. furtively i inquired with my sister –re the mat movement. nope, not a chance she moved them. in the zen atmosphere of the studio i am not about to have it out with these ladies but i was quietly flustered. sensing my unrest, one of the ladies turned and offered an “it gets busy in here.”  yes, it does. that is why we arrived early, to find our comfortable space, loosen up and to meditate. it’s been under my skin all day…that little hesitation…that unrest…that feeling of discontentment. i was put out because it was the indelicacy of the rudeness.

sometimes we need to roll around with our discomfort, if we identify so we can be mindful. i’m digging deep to let go, but as i’m digging down, i stumble across my golden rule – one should treat others as one would like to be treated.  the spectrum of r’s collide. if we respect we are not rude.

tomorrow is a fresh new start.  i need to put that energy that’s been slinking around to good use. so i’m letting go and following the continuum.
R-E-S-P-E-C-T!

Tags: , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

2 responses to “the indelicacy of rudeness”

  1. Stacy says :

    There were these two ‘ladies’ at my yoga studio who were notorious for doing this. They did it to me once and I pulled my mat back to exactly where it was before – now basically straight on top of theirs – and sat down. I can give a perfect crazy lady look so they shuffled over. They did it the next day to a guy – he tore a strip off them. It was awesome.
    Pull a crazy lady stare next time, it works.

Leave a Reply

