the blind guy baffle

saturday morning arrived, grey but dry.  i silently cheered the morning and its absence of rain.  i had an arranged playdate for my son and had a few errands on my list.

we had the ‘blind guy’ coming over–yes that gave me pause the other day for about 5 very long seconds. i grappled with the ‘blind guy’ before the ‘aha’ moment–the window treatment guy. the appointment was set for 9:30 and although this is literally mid-morning in our home, at 9 i was still in my pyjamas drinking coffee and randomly tidying.  at 9:02 a car pulled into the drive.

scrambling, i surveyed my state of disarray, no makeup, hair piled on my head, coffee in hand and the pyjamas…well, it wasn’t going to get better than this. my husband and my sister were  equally attired.  just as the dogs alerted us to the visitor in the drive, we had all been making our way off to put ourselves together.

my husband answered the door and the ‘blind lady’ not guy entered our house. she was commenting on what a lovely area we lived in and was complimenting us on the interior our home whilst apologizing for being early.   we made our way into the living room continued the small talk. my sister had joined us, and conversationally commented on her temporary status in the home before her out of country, and cross-country move. in this instance the ‘blind guy’ was going to get all of our opinions as she has great taste and i wanted her advice. my husband and i apologized for the state of our dress just as  j appeared as Batman. we settle in, she continued to stand, and one of us asked what she was going to show us.

a veil of confusion swept over and her, and her smile turned tentative… after a quiet pause she countered…”what are you going to show me? i am here to look at some Frye boots.”  i started to smile, my sister laughed audibly  and my husband mirrored her earlier confusion. apparently, this visitor was not the ‘blind guy’ or blind lady’ 30 minutes early, but instead a Craigslist appointment 1 hour early.

we all had a good laugh about the mix-up, and then boots were shown and our visitor departed. with 15 minutes to spare we all went our separate ways to ‘clean up’ and my husband even got a quick vacuum in. at 9:29 when the ‘blind guy’ arrived we were dressed, tidied and sipping our second cup of coffee.

oh the subtleties of time and impressions. 30 minutes early and we were in disarray…15 minutes to spare and we transformed ourselves and a little bit of the house.  and if he had really had been the blind guy…well none of it would have mattered…

Tags: , , , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

One response to “the blind guy baffle”

  1. Christine@100things100days says :

    Wish I’d been there. : )

Leave a Reply

