fast cars and high heels

i love shoes, love, love, love them. at one point i had an awesome collection of high heels, perhaps not as enviable as Carrie’s but ask anyone and they would confirm i was a true shoe lover. my most often complimented wardrobe item was the shoe. one afternoon at a bridal salon where my sister and i had arrived separately she commented on a rockin’ pair of shoes she had seen at the front–she was sure  i would love them.  i did. they were mine.

this morning i realized i hadn’t donned a pair of heels in 6 days–not because it is summer and i am flip-flopping, not because i am on vacation, and not because of 6 inches of snow.  i haven’t worn them because i am not working every day and nor do my weekends consist dining and dancing. sadly the staple of my wardrobe, the heel has been nudged over to the left. i  have supplanted them with Coach high-tops, flat riding boots, Converse, pretty flats, a few Sam Edelman sandals and the ultimate in casual essentials–Uggs and Hunters.

don’t get me wrong, i still have some heels, and covet many but the appearances are fewer and fewer. sadly, i have found jumping in puddles, running after a kamikaze kid on his bike, scaling the slide, pretzeling myself through the tubes, nets and up the side of the kids rock climbing wall is easier in flat shoes.  and oddly, rockin’ the heel takes some work, you have to train those feet to gracefully glide and when you are out of practice you walk slower and your feet kill the next day.  not a word of a lie.

i don’t spend a lot of time missing the heel, except when i am debating buying a pair, just as i don’t lament the loss of my fast car daily…but every now and then i do.  as i ‘sped’ by my neighbour in his Forerunner and slid my Murano in front of him., i mentioned to J we had just passed him.  “why mamma?” he exclaimed! “well, i guess i just drive faster,” i replied. quite seriously he told me to “slow down.”  i assured him i drive safe and slow now because i have him , so i am safer–i realized how true those words were. not that i was unsafe before, but i am pretty sure  when i had a wide open space, and i confess, even when i didn’t, the accelerator got a little work out in my old (new) car.

oh, the days of fast cars and high heels–i miss you.

but then i remember a few things…sore feet, walking slowly,  delicately stepping over puddles, catching my heel in a grate, getting my shoes reheeled, breaking a heal….slithering into my low-slung car, ungracefully unfurling myself in a skirt, speeding tickets, driving stick in impossible traffic and last, but not least, not being able to see beyond the car in front of me. hmm.. yep, i still miss you.

i think the car might have to wait, but first chance i get i am rocking some high heels. bring on the wobbles.

Tags: , , , , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

2 responses to “fast cars and high heels”

  1. Stride and Joy says :

    Gret post! I’m always so impressed by any woman who can seriously rock a pair of heels. I, sadly, am not one of them. Even at my age, I feel like I’m a kid playing dress-up with Mum’s shoes. 🙂

    • twocentsplus says :

      🙂 that is the way i felt the other day when i pulled out a pair of black high high heels!!! after about 5 minutes i got my mojo back but the first few steps were a bit tentative

Leave a Reply

