run baby run

i’ve committed myself to a half-marathon. i’ve never pressed myself beyond a 10k because that has always been my natural limit. i’ve watched and cheered my sister as she slayed the 1/2–injured and all in under 2 hours. i’ve held signs and applauded my girlfriend as she conquered the full but the sidelines have always been my home.

my runs are in the forest and up mountains, slow and steady with limited mileage, but i’ve decided to tackle a bit of distance. this will be a challenge, i will need to train and put the hours in. besides finishing it, i would like to pick up my pace, so i am not out there forever!

i’ve looked at some tested, tried and true ways to get those legs moving faster. i am sure those methods can’t be wrong,  but yesterday, i found a surefire way to make me run faster. it is both humbling and inspiring.

i took my almost 3-year-old (almost 4) out for a bike/run. he rode his big bike and i ran with him–let me assure you, this was not a jog. i was running the fastest pace i have ever run. i managed to clock 4 k (with a few mini-rests as we slowed for cars and crossings) but overall i ran faster than ever!!

it’s a win win situation…he bikes, laughs and giggles as he kicks my a$$. i’m pretty sure i’ve paid big bucks for this at the gym. for free he gets some fresh air and i think i’ve  found the best training partner ever…

need to whip yourself into shape? go find a 3 year old to chase!

Toughest Trainer Ever

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

2 responses to “run baby run”

  1. Stride and Joy says :

    Ha! This is awesome. I wish I had a three-year-old handy. 🙂 Good luck with your training! Look forward to meeting up at the half!

Leave a Reply

