blog block

any writer will tell you to keep pounding on the keys. keep words to paper and so on, and anyone training for  a run will tell you just put one foot in front of another…ah fortunately i’m not a writer…but apparently, i am a runner.  i’m giving myself a free pass on the gap in my posts because i’ve been closing the gap on my per/km pace.

i guess i’ve been b#sy–oops shouldn’t have said that. i find that phrase to be on the same page as i am str#ssed. i find it is a little self-fulfilling prophecy. in the scheme of things i’ve had a lot going on but when you look at the big picture it’s just been a bit of everyday life that kind of crashed into a few weeks instead of a few months.

it has just been the day-to-day stuff that didn’t spread itself out as much as i would have liked.  we got a new roof,  pot lights and skylights–all awesome but definitely messy! the deck got repainted and as it would happen my dog took a wonder onto a wet deck with oil paint….you get the picture. my son turned 4 and he had 2 parties (my fault) and i taught a crazy 1 week intensive course. but the best part of the last few weeks…..summer has finally arrived!

i’m thrilled to say i’ve felt the warmth of the summer sun permeating the soles of my feet as i stand barefoot on the road and watch the squirt gun fights get louder, bigger and wetter.  kids bedtimes are getting later and more lax and impromptu drink and dinner dates are unfolding seamlessly.

i’m just rolling into august contentedly even though…

1> i fell into a pool with my iPhone (very sad) and thus was off the grid for 3 days (weird)
2> my  birthday party is planned, for my 40th (courtesy of my husband)
3> i’m running my first half-marathon in 6 days (on my birthday)

i am celebrating my fabulousness at my 40th but i gotta tell you i really don’t believe i’m 40….as a kid that just seemed so old. as an adult–hell it’s young.

as i’ve said before the last time was 17 and crossing my fingers hoping my VW had enough gas to get me where i was heading.  well i guess it did.

wish me luck on aug 11!

Tags: , , , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

3 responses to “blog block”

  1. drowqueen says :

    You go girl!!! I am close to that wonderful age myself and I picked up some 5k flyers:) Ha. Gotta start somewhere!

  2. Stride and Joy says :

    This is going to be a momentous day. First half! Milestone birthday! It doesn’t get much better than that. Good luck with the run. See you there!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

