synchronicity and serendipity collide

serendipitywhen random moments collide it reminds me of the slow hush of a match, where air and space slide together, and then magically a flame comes alive. it’s invigorating and intoxicating.

when small moments weave themselves together amidst the day-to-day it makes it a good life.

a few weeks ago i was running against the wettest and coolest of rains, ducking into the coffee shop thrilled that i had enough time to  indulge in the darkest of dark java before i landed at my son’s school for 2  hours. as i silently patted myself on the back that i was able to get my coffee and still be early i reached into my purse to pay…. and of course i came up empty. oops… in a moment of sheer kindness and community a gentleman behind me paid for my coffee with only a whisper of a promise to pay it forward.

warmed by my coffee and a kind soul i assured him i would….days passed and then weeks. and then i had a text asking me about a dog crate i had posted on craigslist–and i had a chance to impart the kindness bestowed on me. it wasn’t forced or planned it just happened magically and organically–and that is why it happened. i wasn’t consciously seeking out a way to pay it forward but i had not forgotten.

leah was leaving for europe the next day to join her husband  with her best friend, sam (the 4 legged kind of best friend)and was frantic with papers not filled out properly by bureaucrats, a broken dog crate,  the whole hugeness of moving overseas solo and she was carless. she was on her way overseas and her life was winding down…all the normal parts of her support system were boxed up or given away.   i was out and about  and downtown was not on my way but not entirely out of my way. so i rejigged my plans and delivered the crate.

we met on a little side street across from her apartment and made the exchange. as she tried to pay me twice the asking price with an explanation that i must accept it for delivering i waived it aside and laughed at how silly that would be. as she teared up i reached out and hugged her–as a gesture of comfort, support, goodwill and human kindness. she hugged me back and tears that were brimming splashed down. she laughed and cried at the shock of it all.

sooner or later we all need a moment of support, whether from good friends or strangers. kindness that brings tears to our eyes might be my favourite kind.

it was so little to me, yet so much for leah.  my cup of coffee was heaven yet the simple passing of a twoonie by another. we all recognize kindness when it happens–and let me tell you a little love goes a long way.

i had a moment of serendipity and synchronicity which allowed me to pay it forward. not bad for an average rainy day.

Tags: , , ,

About ithinkinwords

i love common sense and innovation. the trails, mountains and oceans are magic. i run a little, have recently taken up mountain biking and find bliss in yoga. getting outside everyday and moving is a must! sometimes when i am driving i look into the rearview and think how did i get here? -- last time i looked i was 17 and crossing my fingers my VW had enough gas. well it got me here.

2 responses to “synchronicity and serendipity collide”

  1. breezyk says :

    I had someone buy my coffee at starbucks last year.. in the financial district no less! I paid it forward by buying breakfast for a homeless person. I love RAK’s!

Leave a Reply

